My Top 10 Style Tips

22 Jul

I’ll let you in on my top 10 style tips I have learned over the years. When I feel comfortable in my clothes, then I feel and look good. Style isn’t really about trends and what’s popular at the moment. It is really about feeling confident in our basics.

Here are 10 my simple tips:

1. Invest In Staples: I’m talking about coats, blazers, shirts. These are the pieces that don’t fall into the trends of the season, but instead last me forever. It’s better to spend more on one item than to re-buy it multiple times due to poor quality. And please, no fakes either to save on money. In the long run, you’ll get ripped off.


2. Denim Is My Best Friend: A good pair of jeans can change everything. It is the best staple to have hanging in my closet, making any outfit rock! A perfect pair of well fitting jeans can make any top look awesome. It is an easy way for me to look pulled together in an instant.

3. High Heels Can Give A Whole New Look: I know they can be painful, and I know I’ve been warned that they aren’t good for my feet, but heels really can take a look and turn it into something I feel is awesome. Oh, the power of heels to give us ladies an impression of long legs that go for miles. I’ll take pain anytime over comfort. 

“You put a high heels on, and you change.” – Manolo Blahnik 

“Give a girl the correct footwear, and she can conquer the world!” – Bette Midler

4. Watches Are Timeless: Watches are classic and they represent my personality. If I feel sporty, I’ll wear a big TW Steel, Technomarine, or Omega. For any day look that can take me from morning till night, I choose Rolex, Panerai, or Cartier anytime. For special occasions, I’ll bring Patek or Rolex. When you invest in a good watch, it lasts you a lifetime. You can hand it down for many generations to come.

5. Little Black Dress (LBD): This is the best tip. Having this dress and its variations hanging in my closet waiting for a special moment is a comforting thought. It is a style saver when I’m scrambling to find something to wear.

“One is never ever over-or underdressed with the little black dress.” – Karl Lagerfeld

 

6. Wear Sunglasses: I only have one set of eyes, so I want to protect them in style. I make sure that I get sunglasses with UV protected lenses to avoid harming my eyes. My all-time favorites are aviator shades.

7. Invest In Good Underwear: Wearing nice underwear every day makes me feel special. I know not everyone gets to be so lucky and see how nice my underwear is. But it is good to dress for myself. I make sure I have my bras fitted — often. It makes my clothes hang better and infinitely more comfortable. Oh, and by the way, I make sure mine are in the same color scheme. I don’t want to make the mistake of wearing a black bra and white undies. It feels like wearing different colored socks. 

8. The Easiest Way To Update A Wardrobe Is Accessories: A statement necklace or a chunky bangle bracelet always reinvent my entire look. Updating my closet need not be difficult! I look to Joyce Makitalo and Nicole Whisenhunt for those very ultra chic Filipino accessories. But you can always find me in my pearl or gold earrings and necklace, and my signature layers of bracelets. I throw in a scarf to change the way my plain white tee looks! 

 

9. Don’t Overdo Belts: The belt is meant to give women a waist or hold our pants up. There are times however, that I leave my belt at home. If my outfit is already fitted, there is no need for a belt. If I am wearing pants but I feel like belting the shirt, it would really look a little odd. I’d rather use belts sparingly rather than often.

10. Invest in Shoes and Bags That I Love: If I have a pair of well-loved or well-adored shoes I have worn straight into the ground or bags that i have used without giving them a break, I spend some money getting them fixed rather than finding another pair that will never be quite the same. I discovered over the years that it is more important that I have spent more money on these good quality shoes and bags initially, rather than buying a pair of flats or trendy bags from Forever 21 or Payless or something similar which don’t even last a year. Tip: I “rotate” my shoes and bags and keep them in well ventilated areas in their shoe or dust bags when not in use. I use shoe trees and bubble wraps to retain their shape. 

“A great pair of shoes can make a $20 outfit look like couture, and a poorly constructed pair of shoes can make couture look like a cheap knock-off.” – Nina Garcia

“It’s not what you spend, but how you wear it that counts. The key is often to dress up inexpensive basics with accessories. Something like a beautiful designer bag or shoes or belt can make everything else look richer and more luxurious.” – Chloe Sevigny

 

“Over the years I have learned that what is important in a dress is the woman who is wearing it.” – Yves Saint Laurent.

I definitely agree Mr YSL!

Life is Amazing!

LENY

Leave a Comment

